Thursday, November 19, 2015

Hiatus Explanation

A lot of people have been asking how our blog has been going and a simple reply of "it's not" has not been to the liking of our followers. So, we thought we would take a moment to explain why we have a VERY legitimate excuse for disa-poofing.

That excuse is this little one:


Riley Lee. Our miracle baby that we never thought was possible. With her impending arrival (I will be induced November 27th) we have had to make a LOT of changes. That meant we had to put the books down (SAY IT AIN'T SO!) and start getting everything we needed together to raise our first child. We both got full-time jobs and a new place to call our own. It hasn't been easy. We have had cars break down and stop working, leaky roofs, too many bills and not enough money... It's been hard. But, we've pulled through and now we are expecting our little bundle of joy next week. She is 8 lbs 15 oz of big baby love (her father is 6'10" and she's inherited his height) that we can't wait to welcome home.

What this means for the site is that our weekly memes may not be as consistent and our reviews may be a little slow in coming. That does not mean that we are completely giving up on Books A-Brewin'. We are just... prioritizing our daughter over our hobbies as any parent should.

Thank you all for being understanding and sticking with us through all this. I know its been a crazy long disa-poofing and we apologize. When Riley is born, I will be sure to post lots of pictures. Baby pictures are even more swoon-worthy than books (Oh yeah, I said that).

Tuesday, May 12, 2015

Review: Rush by Gina Gordon


Title: Rush

Author: Gina Gordon

Publication date: May 12th, 2015

Pages: 302

ISBN: 9781101882801

Synopsis (according to Goodreads):
In this edgy, sizzling romance for fans of Monica Murphy and Abbi Glines, a bad boy shows a straitlaced law student how to slow down and savor the good things.

Everly Parker is about to graduate from law school, always busy, and can't stop rushing through life. Her late grandmother left her a bucket list of meaningful, can't-miss experiences, but she hasn't completed a single one. Then searing-hot Max Levin bursts into her world. As a casting director for a porn production company, Max is loaded, cocky, and all wrong for Everly. Still, she's tempted enough to cross the first item off her list: Go out with someone you'd never give the time of day.

Inheriting a porn empire isn't every guy's dream (well, actually, it probably is), but Max isn't complaining. It's just that until he meets Everly, he has no idea what he's been missing. As the pressure mounts to take over the family business, Max can't help wondering what would happen if he chose Everly instead. So far, his life has been a wild race, but only Everly promises the greatest rush of all: love.



Review:
I received an electronic copy of this book from the publishers at NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

On a whim to get through the books that have not yet been released, I chose this one. I went into the book completely cold. I hadn't gone back and read the synopsis but simply went off cover appeal. Hunky man, check. Loveswept book, check. Author I have not already been exposed to so I can try someone new out, check check. It had all the makings of a really stellar book.

Everly is a scholarly bookworm who is ruled by her overbearing parents and her drive to follow in her lawyer parents' footsteps. Everything in her life is by the book (literally). She spends every waking moment either preparing for exams or studying the material she would need to remain in the top five percent of her class as graduation nears. She doesn't need any to be led astray from her path.

Enter Max. In the middle of him interviewing her two escort roommates he meets Everly and for the first time finds his body reacting to a woman again. After being in the porn industry for his entire life, it takes a certain type of woman to get his motor running. Everly is not that type but she makes his blood heat either way. When he comes across Everly's bucket list from her grandmother he sets about trying to break her out of her shell and check off some of the items on the list.

What started as simply a much needed distraction for both of them grew into something life changing, but are either of them ready to have all they have ever known turned upside down?

As I stated, I went into the book completely cold and was a bit shocked that the first sentence was about porn. Say what now? It made me curious so I kept reading. I didn't love the book. The sex scenes seemed forced and not at all as romantic as you would expect with two people who feel so strongly for each other. The obstacles that the two had to overcome were definitely not the norm and while that would normally be a plus for me I found it just... odd. The saving grace was I liked Everly's naivety. I liked that she was a bookworm with insecurities like everyone else. But that was the only aspect that really saved the book for me. It was a book that seemed written to shock it's readers but all it did for me was make me uncomfortable.

Purchase Your Copy Today!



Tuesday, April 21, 2015

Blog Tour with Excerpt & Giveaway: Our Chance by Natasha Preston @inkslingerpr @natashavpreston


Our Chance by Natasha Preston
Publication date: April 12th, 2015

Synopsis (according to Goodreads):
Nell Presley believes that no good can come from love. Her grandparents screwed it up, her parents screwed it up, so why would it be any different for her? She would rather keep it casual and protect herself.

Damon Masters was happy with casual through university but his feelings for Nell develop and he now wants more.

With the aid of Nell's best friend, Chloe, Damon sets out to smash down the wall Nell's built around her heart and show her that not all love is doomed to end in disaster. But is Nell be strong enough to let someone in or will Damon end up getting his heart crushed?




Available at:



Excerpt
With only fifteen minutes before the taxi was due to arrive, I washed in a rush and changed into clothes that didn't smell like booze, sleaze and regret.



About the Author:
UK native Natasha Preston grew up in small villages and towns. She discovered her love of writing when she stumbled across an amateur writing site and uploaded her first story and hasn't looked back since. She enjoys writing NA romance, thrillers, gritty YA and the occasional serial killer.









Monday, April 20, 2015

Blog Tour with Excerpt & Giveaway: Lessons in Pure Life by Audrey O'Conner @inkslingerpr @audrey_writes



Lessons in Pure Life by Audrey O'Connor
Publication date: April 6th, 2015

Synopsis (according to Goodreads):
Freshly minted grad Emilia Noble arrives in Costa Rica to teach English in the tropical community of Pacifica. Its carefree, pura vida lifestyle is a welcome contrast to her dark and wintry origins. Tossing caution aside like an old winter coat, she plunges headfirst into an exotic cocktail of sensory pleasure.

Diego is a local whose surfer body and cool detachment make Lia buzz with a long-lost thrill. Fascinated by her new environment, she can't help but wonder about the moody inner workings of the boy with triceps like Wolverine and a grimace to match.

Diego seems to have no problem ignoring Lia, though. Caught up in his family's conflicted attitude toward foreigners, he notices her only when it's convenient. But as Lia thrives in her new surroundings, Diego might just find reason enough to defy his embattled, insular father. When north and south are mixed together, the results are intoxicating.


Available at:



Excerpt
"Can someone put sunscreen on my back?" I ask Katherine and Genesis, but they don't hear me, busy poring over the trail map.

I look around. Diego's chatting amicably with a park ranger like they're old friends.

When I got on the bus this morning, I sat down in front of Katherine and chattered with her for a while as I untangled my headphones, rubbed sunscreen onto my face and neck, and pulled my hair through the back of my baseball cap. Ten minutes passed before I noticed Diego was part of our traveling group, startling me with his gaze. His body, usually standing tall, was slumped lazily in the seat, and I hadn't noticed him behind Jose. It was the first time I'd been totally myself around him, ignorant of his presence and therefore raw, unprocessed. When we arrived, he ambled around like it was no big deal, scanning the landscape with familiarity. Diego scans the scattering of people until his eyes stop on me, a clacketing roulette ball suddenly silent, end of play.

Red 23. That's me.

I'm standing a few paces away, trying to rub a blob of sunscreen onto my middle back. My arm is twisted behind me, eyes locked on Diego's.

He saunters toward me in his effortless way, on his own time, steadily forward. A graceful swagger.

It feels good to be the one he's approaching, even if it scares me. His arrogance has softened, or maybe it's that I'm starting to see how his sister wins every argument with him, knowing how to push him until he inevitably backs off.

The breadth of Diego's shoulders, his silhouette with the sun behind him, is thought-stopping instinct-activating.

And that's the problem. I should say something, anything.

"Pura vida, Diego," I pronounce, my accent rounder this time, silkier.

I have some more elaborate phrases in my vocabulary, but this will have to do. Think. Speak. Act normal.

"You missed a spot."

Cheeky. I turn to face him, questioning.

"Volteate, gringa," he says, almost cheerful as he gazes down at me.

"Que?" I ask, wary.

He rotates his finger, like Turn around. Wags the bottle, implying he'll put it on me, I think. Like he's my cabana boy. Gulp.

"Oh, you'll do me?" It comes out before I can rephrase it. "I mean--"

He feigns shock with raised eyebrows before looking away innocently.

"I mean, I could use some help," I mutter.

"Then turn around. Volteate."



About the Author:
Audrey O'Connor can't help but color outside the lines with big, bright markers. She's fascinated by the influence of popular culture on the female experience and inspired by creative boldness and the breaking of the dumb rules women are supposed to follow. Audrey lives in Chelsea, Quebec, where she can be found DJ-ing at local events or scanning a cafe for outlets for her laptop.